Originally a convent for the Poor Clare Sisters, the building dates back to 1872 and retains many of its architectural features. Today, it is home to a diverse array of exhibitions which communicate Cavan’s story within Ireland’s broader historical context.
The Museum’s outdoor space features our Award-Winning WWI Trench Experience, a permanent outdoor reconstruction which has been replicated according to the manual produced by the Irish Guards and used by the Royal Irish Fusiliers at the Somme, as well as The 1916 Rising, Battle of the Somme and Road to War – Path to Reflection Exhibitions.
Internal galleries arranged over three floors feature a range of unique artefacts dating from the stone age to the twentieth century. Displays of notable interest include the Killycluggin stone, believed to be 4000-6000 years old, bog-butter, and a selection of Sheela-na-gigs. Other exhibitions include the Great Famine, Percy French, the Lords Farnham, the Pig-House Collection and The Women of Influence Exhibition. 2
- 2005, July, Image Casting, Anne Burke (ROI), Cavan County Museum